Election Commission transfers Shillong poll officer

Ahead of the first phase Lok Sabha polls, the Election Commission (EC) on Tuesday transferred two Meghalaya officials, including Returning Officer for Shillong parliamentary seat, Matsiewdor War Nongbri and replaced her with Abhishek Bhagotia, an official said.

Nongbri, who was appointed as Deputy Commissioner of East Khasi Hills district on January this year, is now posted as Secretary (Secretariat Administration Department).

Live: How the Lok Sabha Polling ‘Schedule’ 2019 has created a widespread controversy?

Deputy Commissioner of West Jaintia Hills district Garod L.S.N. Dykes, who was also removed and replaced by Chinmay P. Gotmare, is posted as (Secretary) Education department.

“As far as I know, there are no adverse remarks against the officer but the commission transferred them on technical grounds since both officers are posted in the respective home district which is against EC’s guidelines,” Chief Electoral Officer, Frederick Roy Kharkongor said.

Meghalaya has two parliamentary constituencies — Shillong and Tura — that will go to polls on April 11.

The National People’s Party-led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government has announced it would jointly field former Union Minister Agatha K. Sangma from the Tura Lok Sabha seat and United Democratic Party’s Jemino Mawthoh from the Shillong constituency.

However, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which is also part of the National People’s Party-led, six-party MDA, decided to field its own candidates from the state’s two parliamentary constituencies. (-IANS).

EU grounds 737 MAX 8, MAX 9 models

Hope ‘common sense’ will prevail on Brexit: EU President