Congress wins Rajasthan’s Ramgarh Assembly seat

Shaphia Zubair Khan from Ramgarh won by a margin of over 12,000 votes

In Ramgarh Assembly polls, Indian National Congress candidate namely, ‘Shaphia Zubair Khan’ from Ramgarh won by a margin of over 12,000 votes today. However, BJP wins Jind assembly seat Jind bypoll in Haryana by 12935 votes; KrishanLalMiddha elected.

Read Also, BJP wins Jind assembly seat: Jind bypoll in Haryana by 12935 votes

Meanwhile, CM Ashok Gehlot has congratulated the winning candidate and thanked people for showing confidence in his government. “I am happy that people took a well meditated step. They have taken right decision. I thank them and express my gratitude. They have given a message at a time when it was much needed. It will encourage the party ahead of Lok Sabha election.”

The Indian National Congress has now 100 MLAs and it enjoys support of six BSP MLAs.

Rajasthan Deputy CM Sachin Pilot has mentioned that the party will win by a strong margin. “Although people say that this is going to be a triangular contest, I strongly feel that the Congress will come up as a winner by a strong margin,”. After the formation of a Congress government in December last year, this is the first election in the state. Also, Pilot alleged that the BJP tried to polarise communities on the basis of religion and cast in the elections but failed.

The BJP fielded Sukhwant Singh, replacing the controversial three-time MLA Gyan Dev Ahuja, infamous for his remarks on condoms in Jawaharlal Nehru University and defending cow vigilantes in the district.

Many reports were suggested that, Congress’s victory in Ramgarh election is a prestige issue, as the party’s performance in Alwar during the assembly polls was far better than in other districts in the state. Infighting in the Banswara-Dungarpur, Kota, Jhalawar, Chittorgarh, Bharatpur, Bikaner, Pali and Jalore-Sirohi seats have surfaced.

While the Jind bypoll is being seen as a demo test of the popularity of Haryana CM namely, Manohar Lal Khattar ahead of the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections too. The bypoll, which saw a voter turnout of 75.77 per cent, was necessitated following the death of INLD legislator Hari Chand Midha last year.

Read Also, BJP wins Jind Assembly seat; Congress, INLD bite dust

Following by the Indian Express report, After the 11th round of counting in Jind, BJP’s Krishan Middha is leading by more than 15,960 votes. Middha has secured 46916 votes, Digvijay Chautala 30956 votes and Congress’ Randeep Singh Surjewala 19611 votes. BJP looks set to continue its victory march after the win in mayoral elections in five cities of Haryana last month. “NOW BJP Win”.

In the 200-member Rajasthan assembly the BJP has 73 MLAs while the BSP has six, Rastriya Loktantrik Party (RLTP) three, and the CPI (M) and the Bharatiya Tribal Party (BTP) two each. There are 13 Independent legislators in the House.

Moreover, Shaphia Zubair Khan defeated BJP’s Sukhwant Singh and BSP’s Jagat Singh from here. The outcome has come as a big boost to the Congress that lacks majority in two hundred member House. And it will help the Congress improve its tally from 99 to 100. The Indian National Congress had formed government in the state last month under Gehlot’s leadership who enjoys support of BSP and RLD MLAs.

Congress’ Shafia Zubair has thanked the people of Ramgarh for voting in her favour. “People know that we believe in working, ” she said. Khan won with a margin of 12,228 votes, garnering a total of 83,311 votes

Election in this constituency was held on January 28 with nearly 79% of the 2,35,625 voters exercising their franchise. The election was scheduled on December 7 along with the rest of Rajasthan Assembly seats but was postponed after Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Laxman Singh died due to cardiac arrest. In the year 2013, the voter turnout in Ramgarh constituency was 80.17% and BJP’s Gyandev Ahuja won by a margin of 4,647 votes.

Apple CEO reveals why iPhones not selling in emerging markets like India

ED questions extradited Agusta co-accused Saxena, lobbyist Talwar