Polling begins for “MP” Assembly election

49% voter turnout recorded till 1 pm in Mizoram, ANI

Polling began at 7 a.m today in three constituencies of Maoist-affected Balaghat district in MP amid high security, while in the remaining 227 of the 230 Assembly seats polling will begin at 8 a.m. today. It will end in the three constituencies — Baihar, Lanji and Paraswada — at 3 p.m, while it will continue till 5 p.m in all the other constituencies.

31.33% voter turnout recorded in Madhya Pradesh till 1:30 pm.

The contest is mainly between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress, though the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Samajwadi Party (SP) are also in the fray.

Among the 2,907 candidates in Madhya Pradesh, the BJP has fielded candidates in all 230 seats, while the Congress is contesting in 229 seats leaving one seat, Jatara in Tikamgarh district, for Sharad Yadav-led Loktantrik Janata Dal (LJD). The BSP has fielded 227 candidates and the SP is contesting in 51 seats. There are 1,102 Independent candidates.

In the last polls, of the 230 seats, the Bharatiya Janata Party won 165, Congress 58, Bahujan Samaj Party four and Independents three. Over five crore registered voters in Madhya Pradesh — 2,63,01,300 men, 2,41,30,390 women and 1,389 of the third gender — will decide the fate of candidates.

Samsung to hire 300 engineers from IITs

Shania Twain ‘bored’ with country music