in ,

Elections in Tripura: Prime Minister Narendra Modi attends a meeting of the BJP Central Election Committee to finalise candidates

The Central Election Committee of the BJP is convening at its headquarters to choose candidates for the Tripura Assembly elections on February 16. In addition, Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrived at the party headquarters for the meeting, which would be presided over by J.P. Nadda, the party president.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Tripura CM Manik Saha, Deputy CM Jishnu Dev Verma, Union Minister and state MP Pratima Bhoumik, CEC member Om Mathur, former Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Deb, Union Ministers Bhupendra Yadav, Satyanarayan Jatiya, and Sarbananda Sonowal, Iqbal Singh Lalpura, and Tripura election incharge Dr. Mahesh Sharma are also participating.

The majority of the 60 candidates’ names will reportedly be decided upon and made public after the meeting, according to insiders. A source added, “Strategy would be formulated to win the poll with a majority, and there will be brainstorming on the Assembly elections in Meghalaya and Nagaland as well.” Meghalaya and Nagaland will hold elections on February 27 while Tripura holds elections on February 16. On March 2, all three of the results will be released.

Virtualization of Politics

PM condoles the demise of Minister in Odisha Government, Shri Naba Kishore Das