Live: Lok Sabha polling on April 11, 18, 23, 29, May 6, 12, 19

The date of polling for the seven phases are April 11, 18, 23, 29, May 6, 12, 19.

Country will vote for the 17th Lok Sabha Election 2019 in 7 phases from 11 April to 19 May. Moreover, The counting of votes will take place on May 23 and result will be declared on the same date as per the Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule announced by the Election Commission of India on March 10.

Meanwhile, The Election Commission on March 10 announced that the Lok Sabha election will be held in 7 phases. CEC Sunil Arora argued that the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) has come into force as it announced the dates for the elections to 17th Lok Sabha. The elections will start on April 11 and continue till May 19. The code is in place to ensure a level playing field for all the contesting candidates and political parties.

Voting will be held across India on April 11, April 19, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Eletction Commission lays down guidelines for political parties and candidates to be followed during the poll schedule, while holding meetings, processions and conduct at polling booths.

In the first phase, 91 seats across 20 states and UTs will go to polls; Second phase: 97 in 13 States and UTs; Third phase: 115 in 14 States and UTs; Fourth phase – 71 in 9 States and UTs; Fifth phase: 51 in 7 States and UTs; Sixth phase 59 in 7 States and UTs; Seventh phase: 59 in 8 States and UTs.

The elections are being held for 543 out of the 545 Lok Sabha seats. The remaining two seats are reserved for the Anglo-Indian community which are nominated by the President.

Following the trend, This signals the start of a gigantic voting exercise that will see Prime Minister Narendra Modi seeking another term in office and the opposition attempting to join forces to put up a strong fight.

The staggered election will see about 900 million voters, up from 814.5 million in 2014, when Narendra Modi led the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) to power ending a decade of Congress-headed UPA rule. Of this, some 15 million will be first-time voters in the age group of 18 to 19 years.

Approximately 10 lakh polling stations, one lakh more than in 2014, will be set up and a total of 17.4 lakh VVPATs will be used with electronic voting machines (EVMs) in all polling stations. “The Election Commission of India Sunil Arora has attempted a very comprehensive preparation for the conduct of the election”.

Note: If any corrections are required, kindly mail at

Heavy firing on LoC

PM lays foundation stone of Buxar and Khurja Thermal Power Plants